QUALIFYING PATIENTS IN VIRGINIA
If you are seeking medical cannabis treatment in Virginia, talk to your doctor about a recommendation for cannabis extracts. Any Virginia doctor can recommend this treatment for a condition which they deem serious enough to warrant it.
After getting a physician recommendation start the registration process by clicking here and finding the "Register a Person" tab.
- You will be required to enter your last name and social security
- If you are not already in the licensing system, you will be
directed to the “Initial Registration” screen.
- Follow the directions for completing the log in registration. You
will enter a User Id and Password that you will need to complete
the patient or parent/guardian registration.
- Once you have completed this step, you can now log in.
Select Initial application from the menu on the left. On the Application for Licensure screen select Cannabis oil- Patient from the dropdown menu. There is a $50 patient registration fee with an annual renewal fee of $50. The registration fee for a parent or legal guardian is $25 with a $25 renewal fee.
Under HB 1251, a doctor may recommend and certify for any condition.
Becoming a Patient as a Minor:
There are no age restrictions to register as a patient under Virginia law.
Benefits of Being a Patient:
As a registered patient, you will have an affirmative defense in court if arrested for the possession of legally permitted cannabis extracts.
Becoming a Caregiver:
The law does not provide for legal protections to caregivers.
The state of Virginia does not recognize Out-of-State patient registrations. For more information about traveling as a medical cannabis patient, check out our Travel Guide.
It is not legal to grow your own cannabis in Virginia.
In 2021, SB 1406 allows for the automatic expungement of certain misdemeanor marijuana possession convictions. This bill also limits the public's access to them, which prohibits employers from being able to ask about them. House Bill 2113 was enacted in 2021 to establish a set process for the automatic expungement of convictions SB 1406 allowed for.
Medical cannabis patients can find additional resources here
Share this page