- About About
Medical Patient Resources Becoming a State-Authorized Patient Talking to your doctor Which conditions qualify? The Medical Cannabis Patient’s Guide for U.S. Travel Patient's Guide to CBD Patient's Guide to Medical Cannabis Guide to Using Medical Cannabis Condition-based Booklets Growing Cannabis Cannabis Tincture, Salve, Butter and Oil Recipes Leaf411 Affordability Program Tracking Treatment & Gathering Data with Releaf App Medical Professional Resources CME for Medical Professionals Cannabis Safety Medical Cannabis Research
- Legal Legal
Advocacy ASA Chapters Start an ASA Chapter Take Action Campaigns No Patient Left Behind End Pain, Not Lives Vote Medical Marijuana Medical Cannabis Advocate's Training Center Resources for Tabling and Lobby Days Strategic Planning Civics 101 Strategic Messaging Citizen Lobbying Participating in Implementation Movement Building Organizing a Demonstration Organizing Turnout for Civic Meetings Public Speaking Media 101 Patient's History of Medical Cannabis
Policy Model Federal Legislation Download Ending The Federal Conflict Public Comments by ASA Industry Standards Guide to Regulating Industry Standards Recognizing Science using the Data Quality Act Fact Sheet on ASA's Data Quality Act Petition to HHS Data Quality Act Briefs ASA Data Quality Act petition to HHS Information on Lawyers and Named Patients in the Data Quality Act Lawsuit Reports 2020 State of the States Medical Cannabis in America Medical Cannabis Access for Pain Treatment
- News News
- Join Join
Becoming a Patient in Oregon
After a licensed physician has determined that medical cannabis may be an effective treatment for you, a completed application must be sent to the OMMP the patient ID. The application requires a physician's statement that contains (a) the diagnosis of a debilitating medical condition and (b) a medical opinion that the medical use of marijuana may mitigate the symptoms or effects of the condition. Alongside your doctor's recommendation, you will have to submit copies of current valid photo ID issued by the state of Oregon. There is a $200 registration fee for most patients,if you can provide proof of your enrollment in SNAP, the fee is $60; with OHP eligibility it is $50, and for veterans or Social Security recipients, it is $20. Application forms to apply online or by mail can be found on the Oregon Health Authority website.
If, upon an initial review, it appears that a complete application has been received, you will be issued a receipt letter. This receipt has the same legal effect as a registry identification card for 30 days following the date printed on the letter. Once your application is finished being processed, a card will be mailed to you.
If your application is NOT complete, OMMP staff will send you an "Incomplete Letter" to let you know what needs to be submitted to complete your application. You will have 14 days from the date of the letter to get the missing application materials to OMMP. If the missing application materials are not submitted within the 14 days, your application may be rejected.
If you are diagnosed with one of the following conditions, you may be eligible for physician certification as a patient in Oregon:
- agitation due to Alzheimer's disease,
- cachexia (severe weight loss or "wasting syndrome"),
- severe pain,
- severe nausea,
- persistent muscle spasms,
- or to relieve the side effects of a treatment for any of these conditions.
Becoming a Patient as a Minor:
If you are under the age of 18 and wish to become a medical cannabis patient, you must have permission from a patent or legal guardian. Your parent or legal guardian will have to complete a minor declaration form (PDF). The document certifies that your parent or legal guardian has been informed of the side effects of cannabis for you and their duties as your caregiver which include both the acquisition of your medicine, the dosage and frequency of use.
Benefits of Being a Patient:
In the unlikely event that you are arrested for cannabis possession in Oregon, you will have an affirmative defense in court. You will be allowed to grow up to six plants at home or designate someone to do so on your behalf. You will not be turned away for an organ transplant due to cannabis use.
Becoming a Caregiver:
Patients may designate individuals to grow on their behalf in Oregon. For more information, see the home cultivation section below.
Out of State Patients:
Oregon does not recognize out of state patient registrations. For more information about traveling as a medical cannabis patient, check out our Travel Guide.
A patient may grow up to Six mature plants for him or herself or designate an individual 21 years or older to act as his or her grower. The OMMP conducts a criminal background check on all designated growers. If a grower has been convicted of felony violating ORS 475.752 through 475.920 on or after January 1, 2006, that person is prohibited from growing marijuana for a patient for two years from the date of conviction for the first offense. Individuals with more than one conviction are permanently prohibited from growing. A grower may start growing for a patient on the effective date found on the grower's registration card. Patients growing medical marijuana or designating a grower are required to provide the OMMP with the grow site address. Only one grow site address may be registered per patient. Grow sites must be a physical address located in Oregon.