QUALIFYING PATIENTS IN NEW MEXICO
First, your doctor must certify that you have an eligible condition from among those listed below. They must also certify that the condition is debilitating and cannot be helped by standard treatments, and the potential risks and benefits of the use of medical cannabis for the condition have been discussed with the patient. This recommendation may need to be accompanied by further proof of your debilitating medical condition depending on the condition. For example, for chronic pain you need objective proof of severe chronic pain such as X-rays, CT scans, and MRIs and you must receive two recommendations, one from your primary care physician and one from a specialist. Recommendations must be submitted to the New Mexico department of health along with a completed application.
Once you have a recommendation from a doctor, you can fill out an application. Application forms are available on the Medical Cannabis Program website or can be acquired by calling (505) 827-2321.
If you are diagnosed with one of the following conditions, you may be eligible for physician certification as a patient in New Mexico
- Alzheimer's disease
- Autism spectrum disorder
- multiple sclerosis
- under hospice care
- severe chronic pain
- painful peripheral neuropathy
- intractable nausea/vomiting
- severe anorexia/cachexia
- hepatitis C infection currently receiving antiviral treatment
- Crohn's disease
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig's disease)
- damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with intractable spasticity
- inflammatory autoimmune-mediated arthritis
- spasmodic torticollis (cervical dystonia)
- inclusion body myositis
- Parkinson's disease
- Huntington's disease
- Spinal muscular atrophy
- ulcerative colitis
- any other condition approved by the department of health
Becoming a Patient as a Minor:
If you are under the age of 18 years old but wish to apply as a patient, the process is the same as an adult; however, as a minor you must have a parent or legal guardian sign your form and register as a caregiver on your behalf. Your caregiver will be responsible for acquiring your medicine and administering it based on a care plan they determine with your doctor.
Benefits of Being a Patient:
If you are arrested for cannabis possession in the state of New Hampshire, you will get an affirmative defense in court. You will be legally protected from discrimination due to cannabis use in child custody hearings. If you require an organ transplant you will not be turned away because of your cannabis use.
Becoming a Caregiver:
To become a caregiver in New Mexico, you must be at least 18 years old. Caregivers are allowed to assist patients with growing their medicine and can apply to grow it themselves on behalf of a patient; the process is detailed below. Registered caregivers are issued cards free of charge that protect them from arrest and prosecution for the possession of medical cannabis under New Mexico law. All caregiver applicants are required to undergo national background checks before they are approved. The forms for caregivers can be found on the Medical Cannabis Program website.
The State of New Mexico recognizes Out-of-State patient registrations. Visitors will have the same legal protections as Out-of-State patients and may shop at New Mexico dispensaries. For more information about traveling as a medical cannabis patient, check out our Travel Guide.
Medical patients and caregivers may apply for a personal production license. If approved, you will be allowed to grow up to four mature plants and twelve immature plants at home. There is a $30 application fee and the application must be renewed annually. Plants must be grown in a secure location out of sight from the public.
In 2021, Senate Bill 2 was signed into law, which facilitated the automatic review and expungement process of conviction records for low-level offenses in the state of New Mexico. This meant anyone who was charged, convicted, or arrested for a cannabis related offense will have their public record erased after two years.
Medical cannabis patients can find additional resources here
Share this page