- Get Informed Get Informed
- Get Involved Get Involved
- News News
QUALIFYING PATIENTS IN MONTANA
To register as a medical marijuana patient in Montana, you must submit the following information on forms provided by the Montana Department of Health and Human Services.
- Your doctor's recommendation. The form is available here.
- A fee of $5.00 for a new application. A renewal is $5.00
- The patient and other application forms are available online at the address indicated above.
An individual diagnosed with one of the following conditions may be eligible for certification as a medical cannabis patient in the state of Montana:
- positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), or acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) when the condition or disease results in symptoms that seriously and adversely affect the patient's health status
- cachexia or wasting syndrome
- severe chronic pain that is persistent pain of severe intensity that significantly interferes with daily activities as documented by the patient's treating physician
- intractable nausea or vomiting
- epilepsy or an intractable seizure disorder
- multiple sclerosis
- Crohn's disease
- painful peripheral neuropathy
- a central nervous system disorder resulting in chronic, painful spasticity or muscle spasms
- admittance into hospice care
- post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
Becoming a Patient as a Minor:
If you are under the age of 18, you can still become a patient, but a parent or legal guardian must agree to act as a caregiver, and they will be responsible for the control of your use; from obtaining cannabis on your behalf, to administering dosages. There is a separate application form specifically for minor-patients.
Physician Statement for a Debilitating Medical Condition for Minors
Benefits of Being a Patient:
As a registered patient in Montana you will have an affirmative defense in court if you are arrested for the possession of cannabis.
Becoming a Caregiver:
There are no provisions for caregivers in Montana's medical cannabis laws.
The state of Minnesota does not recognize Out-of-State patients. For more information about traveling as a medical cannabis patient, check out our Travel Guide.
Any adult over the age of 21 may grow up to four mature and four immature plants at home. Multiple adults in a single household are limited to eight mature and eight immature plants per household.
Medical cannabis patients can find additional resources here
If you appreciate ASA's work, join now to become a part of the movement & sign up to get ASA's monthly newsletters and updates.
Share this page