- About About
Medical Patient Resources Becoming a State-Authorized Patient Talking to your doctor Which conditions qualify? The Medical Cannabis Patient’s Guide for U.S. Travel Patient's Guide to CBD Patient's Guide to Medical Cannabis Guide to Using Medical Cannabis Condition-based Booklets Growing Cannabis Cannabis Tincture, Salve, Butter and Oil Recipes Leaf411 Affordability Program Tracking Treatment & Gathering Data with Releaf App Medical Professional Resources CME for Medical Professionals Cannabis Safety Medical Cannabis Research
- Legal Legal
Advocacy ASA Chapters Start an ASA Chapter Take Action Campaigns No Patient Left Behind End Pain, Not Lives Vote Medical Marijuana Medical Cannabis Advocate's Training Center Resources for Tabling and Lobby Days Strategic Planning Civics 101 Strategic Messaging Citizen Lobbying Participating in Implementation Movement Building Organizing a Demonstration Organizing Turnout for Civic Meetings Public Speaking Media 101 Patient's History of Medical Cannabis
- News News
Policy Model Federal Legislation Download Ending The Federal Conflict Public Comments by ASA Industry Standards Guide to Regulating Industry Standards Reports 2020 State of the States Medical Cannabis Access for Pain Treatment Medical Cannabis in America Recognizing Science using the Data Quality Act Fact Sheet on ASA's Data Quality Act Petition to HHS Data Quality Act Briefs ASA Data Quality Act petition to HHS Information on Lawyers and Named Patients in the Data Quality Act Lawsuit
- Join Join
Becoming a Patient in Florida
If you have one of the qualifying conditions below, seek an appointment with a physician qualified to recommend cannabis in the state of Florida. Once the physician has confirmed the diagnosis and recommended cannabis, they will enter your information into the state registry run by the Medical Marijuana User Registry or MMUR. Once this step has been completed by the physician, applicants will receive an email from MMUR including a patient ID number and directions on how to complete the application. This application includes a $75 fee and can be completed online or printed and mailed in.
An individual with one of the following conditions may be eligible for enrollment in Florida's medical cannabis program:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig's disease.
- Crohn's disease
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson's disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified issuing the application
- Chronic nonmalignant pain caused by a qualifying medical condition
- Other comparable medical conditions.
Becoming a Patient as a Minor
Individuals under the age of 18 must have the permission of a parent or legal guardian. In addition, a minor must also seek a recommendation for cannabis from two qualified physicians. Patients under the age of 18 may not consume cannabis through smoking unless they are diagnosed with a terminal condition.
Benefits of Being a Patient
Employers in the state of Florida are not allowed to discriminate against patients for their use of cannabis off of the jobsite; however, this is not the case in the case of federal employers or those who might lose federal funding because of employee cannabis use.
Becoming a Caregiver
When visiting their doctor, a patient may request that they add a caregiver in their application through the MMUR. Caregivers must be at least 21 years old at the time of the application and must not be a physician or have a financial stake in a licenced treatment center.
Once their patient has designated a caregiver in their MMUR application, prospective caregivers will be sent an email including an application for their caregiver ID. This application can be submitted electronically or by mail and includes a $75 application fee. Once the application is approved, caregivers will be notified by email.
Out of State Patients
The state of Florida does not accept out of state medical cannabis cards, however out of state residents who reside in Florida seasonally may apply to become patients.
Unfortunately, the state of Florida does not allow individuals regardless of patient status to grow cannabis at home.
Letter to Physician on Florida Compassionate Medical Cannabis CME Course