Arizona Legal Information
The Arizona’s current medical cannabis program was passed in 2010 by 50.13% of voters. The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA) allows a patient with an Arizona registry ID card to use cannabis for medical purposes. Patients may appoint a designated caregiver for assistance. Patients and their caregivers may possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis and may cultivate up to 12 plants if they live at least 25 miles from a registered dispensary. The law recognizes out-of-state medical cannabis IDs for criminal protections but does not permit visiting patients to obtaining cannabis from Arizona dispensaries. Due to a series of lawsuits, the Arizona Department of Health Services did not post rules for the Medical Marijuana Dispensary portion of the AMMA until April 2012.
Since the passage of AMMA, the legislature has passed several laws restricting the rights of patents. In 2011, HB 2541 allows an employer to fire a patient for workplace impairment solely on the word of a “reliable” colleague or a positive drug test and HB 2585 added marijuana patient data to the prescription drug monitoring program. In 2012, HB 2349 prohibited medical cannabis at all schools, vocational schools, and college campuses. In 2015, with HB 2346 the legislature specified that AMMA does not require workers’ compensation benefits to include reimbursement for medical cannabis.
In 2016, Arizona licensed 31 new dispensaries. Through court decisions, Arizona recognizes recommendations from other states.
In This Section
The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA) was approved November 2, 2010 by 50.13% of voters. In July 2016, the state accepted applications for 31 dispensary licenses.
It is legal for a patient with an Arizona registry ID card to use cannabis for medical purposes. Patients may also grow cannabis and appoint a designated caregiver for assistance. Patients and designated caregivers may only cultivate if they live at least 25 miles from a registered dispensary; until further notice, however, the dispensary program is in limbo, therefore all patients with registry ID cards are able to cultivate their own medicine, as long as they receive permission to cultivate.
Medical professionals recommending medical cannabis must be a licensed physician (MD or DO) or a licensed Naturopathic or Homeopathic physician. The law and rules specify requirements for issuing written certifications for patients for the medical use of marijuana...
Unfortunately, patients, caregivers, and providers are still vulnerable to federal and state arrests, prosecutions, and incarceration. They also suffer pervasive discrimination in employment, child custody, housing, public accommodation, education and medical care.
Patients may designate a caregiver to assist with acquiring, cultivating and using medical cannabis. A designated caregiver must be at least 21 years old and cannot have been convicted of a violent felony or a drug-related felony occurring in the last 10 years or that would not have resulted in conviction if the Medical Marijuana Act had been effective at the time.