QUALIFYING PATIENTS IN SOUTH DAKOTA
South Dakota requires that the medical cannabis patient application process begin with their physician creating an account on the state's online portal. With this account the physician can then provide a recommendation for medical cannabis for that patient. Once that recommendation has been received the patient will receive an email prompting them to create an account on that same online portal. If applicable the DOH will also request an account for a caregiver at this point.
To complete the online application a patient will need a state approved ID (driver's license, passport, etc.), a passport style photograph, proof of income and savings if applying as a low-income applicant, and a $75 non-refundable fee or $20 for low-income applicants. Additional $20 fees are required for home cultivation or additional caregivers.
Once the patient account is complete the South Dakota Department of Health will review their account and approve or reject the patient. Upon approval the state will mail a medical cannabis card to the patient/caregiver. That card will allow the patient to purchase cannabis from one of the state's certified dispensaries.
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following: cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe, debilitating pain; severe nausea; seizures; or severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis.
Becoming a Patient as a Minor:
The application process is the same for minors with the exceptions that the form requires a Custodial or Legal Parent Attestation, and requires that the applicant have at least one caregiver selected.
Becoming a Caregiver:
Must be at least 21 years old, have not been convicted of a disqualifying felony offense, and can assist no more than 5 qualifying patients. Caregivers are designated in the same patient application process.
Measure 26 does allow for out-of-state patients to access medical cannabis with their state issued authorization as long as the complete a required application. However this application process has not been created yet so at this time there is no reciprocity for visiting patients. For more information about traveling as a medical cannabis patient, check out our Travel Guide.
After applying for home cultivation as a part of their patient application and paying an additional $20 fee a patient may cultivate no more than 2 flowering and 2 non-flowering cannabis plants in their home.
Medical cannabis patients can find additional resources here
Share this page