- Get Informed Get Informed
- Get Involved Get Involved
- News News
QUALIFYING PATIENTS IN HAWAII
All applications must be submitted electronically. If you have been diagnosed with any of the eligible conditions and wish to become a registered medical marijuana patient in Hawaii, you should do the following:
- Create a free Medical Cannabis Registry account;
- Once the account is created, complete the online application and upload any required documents (i.e. a clear copy of a valid ID);
- Make a payment of $38.50 ($35 application fee + $3.50 portal administration fee) which must be paid with a credit/debit card or direct withdrawal from a savings or checking account (all fees are non-refundable, even if a card is not issued); and
- Have your certifying physician or advanced practice registered nurse certify your medical condition and submit the application to the Department of Health. The certifying physician or advanced practice registered nurse must complete an electronic signature agreement before they can use the new registration system.
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
The treatment of these conditions, or A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis or Crohn's disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder;
- Or any other medical condition approved by the Department of health pursuant to administrative rules in response to a request from a physician or advanced practice nurse or potentially qualifying patient.
Becoming a Patient as a Minor:
As a minor, you need a statement by your parent or guardian that your doctor has explained the risks and benefits of medical cannabis. Your parent or legal guardian will have to serve as your primary caregiver and is ultimately responsible for possession and dosages.
Benefits of Being a Patient:
Under state law, a qualifying patient or caregiver may not lose their right to housing as a result of legally using or providing medical marijuana. Please remember, though, that while our belief that you are protected is based on our reading of the statute and case law, there is no existing Hawaii case law that specifically addresses the (non-federally funded) housing rights of patients. However, if you live in housing funded by the Federal Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Hawaii law will not protect you and you may be subject to eviction, as medical marijuana is not protected under federal law.
An employee cannot be terminated for their participation in the medical cannabis program or for their use of cannabis as a patient outside of the workplace. Hawaii law does not require your employer to accommodate your use of marijuana in the workplace.
Becoming a Caregiver:
Caregivers must be designated on the application filled out by patients as they register for their ID. Each patient is limited to only one caregiver. A caregiver must be at least 18 years of age. The patient applying for their card pays a $38.50 fee that covers the caregiver as well.
Out of State Patients:
Hawaii accepts medical cannabis cards from out of state patients; however, you must apply for a temporary state card, start by creating a free Medical Cannabis Registry account. The application fee is $49.50 and is non-refundable. For more information about traveling as a medical cannabis patient, check out our Travel Guide.
The law allows a patient to have ten cannabis plants, regardless of stage of maturity, and four ounces of usable cannabis at any given time. The four ounces of usable cannabis can include any combination of dry flower and processed products. A designated caregiver may cultivate a total of seven live marijuana plants, regardless of the stage of maturity. The location of the grow site must be stated on their valid registration card.
In 2020, Hawaii decriminalized minor cannabis possession offenses. Expungement can be granted to anyone convicted of possession of up to three grams, following a submission of a petition. For more information review HB 1383.
Medical cannabis patients can find additional resources here
If you appreciate ASA's work, join now to become a part of the movement & sign up to get ASA's monthly newsletters and updates.
Share this page