- About About
Medical Patient Resources Becoming a State-Authorized Patient Talking to your doctor Which conditions qualify? The Medical Cannabis Patient’s Guide for U.S. Travel Patient's Guide to CBD Patient's Guide to Medical Cannabis Guide to Using Medical Cannabis Condition-based Booklets Growing Cannabis Cannabis Tincture, Salve, Butter and Oil Recipes Leaf411 Affordability Program Tracking Treatment & Gathering Data with Releaf App Medical Professional Resources CME for Medical Professionals Cannabis Safety Medical Cannabis Research
- Legal Legal
Advocacy ASA Chapters Start an ASA Chapter Take Action Campaigns No Patient Left Behind End Pain, Not Lives Vote Medical Marijuana Medical Cannabis Advocate's Training Center Resources for Tabling and Lobby Days Strategic Planning Civics 101 Strategic Messaging Citizen Lobbying Participating in Implementation Movement Building Organizing a Demonstration Organizing Turnout for Civic Meetings Public Speaking Media 101 Patient's History of Medical Cannabis
- News News
Policy Model Federal Legislation Download Ending The Federal Conflict Public Comments by ASA Industry Standards Guide to Regulating Industry Standards Recognizing Science using the Data Quality Act Fact Sheet on ASA's Data Quality Act Petition to HHS Data Quality Act Briefs ASA Data Quality Act petition to HHS Information on Lawyers and Named Patients in the Data Quality Act Lawsuit Reports 2020 State of the States Medical Cannabis in America Medical Cannabis Access for Pain Treatment
- Join Join
Becoming a Patient in Ohio
If you wish to become a medical cannabis patient in Ohio, you must first have a bona fide physician patient relationship with a physician who has an active certification to recommend cannabis. If you have one or more of the eligible conditions listed below, you may be eligible to possess up to a 90-day supply of medicine. You will need to bring a valid Ohio state issued ID, either a driver's licence or a photo ID. The doctor will use this to enter you into the patient registry; they will need a current email.
Once your doctor has entered you into the database, you will receive login credentials in your email. Sign into the patient registry and complete the application. There will be an annual registration fee of $50 to remain a patient in Ohio.
After your registration is complete, you must go to a dispensary in the state to complete the process. Your first transaction will finalize your registration.
If you are diagnosed with one of the following conditions, you may be eligible for physician certification as a patient in Ohio:
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome;
- Alzheimer's disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis;
- Chronic traumatic encephalopathy;
- Crohn's disease;
- Epilepsy or another seizure disorder;
- Hepatitis C;
- Inflammatory bowel disease;
- Multiple sclerosis;
- Pain that is either of the following:
- Chronic and severe;
- Parkinson's disease;
- Positive status for HIV;
- Post-traumatic stress disorder;
- Sickle cell anemia;
- Spinal cord disease or injury;
- Tourette's syndrome;
- Traumatic brain injury;
- Ulcerative colitis;
- Any other disease or condition added by the state medical board
Becoming a Patient as a Minor:
If you are a minor who wishes to become a patient in Ohio, the application process is the same; however, the doctor you visit must have permission from a parent or legal guardian to recommend cannabis to you. A parent or legal guardian must also serve as your caregiver.
Benefits of Being a Patient:
You will have an affirmative defense in court if arrested for the possession of cannabis. Legally, your medical cannabis status cannot be the sole or primary basis for a landlord rejecting or evicting a tenant. Unfortunately, patients are not protected from employment discrimination; you will be forbidden from taking legal action against an employer who has dismissed them for their medical cannabis use.
Becoming a Caregiver:
During the consultation process with their physician, a patient may name you as their caregiver. Make sure your patient has a current email address for you so that you can access the profile on the registration portal set up by the physician. There is a $25 fee to register as a caregiver. The caregiver application includes a background check which should take up to seven business days to complete.