- About About
Medical Patient Resources Cannabis Care Certification Patient's Guide to Medical Cannabis Patient's Guide to CBD Talking to your doctor Become a Legal Medical Marijuana Patient The Medical Cannabis Patient’s Guide for U.S. Travel Guide to Using Medical Cannabis Cannabis Tincture, Salve, Butter and Oil Recipes Arthritis and Medical Cannabis Cancer and Medical Cannabis Chronic Pain and Medical Cannabis Gastrointestinal Disorders and Medical Cannabis HIV/AIDS and Medical Cannabis Movement Disorders and Medical Cannabis Multiple Sclerosis and Medical Cannabis Aging and Medical Cannabis Veterans and Medical Cannabis Medical Marijuana Conditions in Your Area Growing Cannabis Tracking Treatment & Gathering Data with Releaf App Medical Professional Resources Medical Cannabis Continuing Medical Education (CME) Cannabis Safety Medical Cannabis Research
- Legal Legal
Advocacy ASA Chapters Start an ASA Chapter Take Action Campaigns No Patient Left Behind End Pain, Not Lives Vote Medical Marijuana Medical Cannabis Advocate's Training Center Resources for Tabling and Lobby Days Strategic Planning Civics 101 Strategic Messaging Citizen Lobbying Participating in Implementation Movement Building Organizing a Demonstration Organizing Turnout for Civic Meetings Public Speaking Media 101 Patient's History of Medical Cannabis
Policy Policy Positions Model Federal Legislation Download Ending The Federal Conflict Public Comments by ASA Industry Standards Guide to Regulating Industry Standards Recognizing Science using the Data Quality Act Data Quality Act Briefs Fact Sheet on ASA's Data Quality Act Petition to HHS ASA Data Quality Act petition to HHS Information on Lawyers and Named Patients in the Data Quality Act Lawsuit Reports 2021 State of the States Cannabis and Cannabis Resin- Critical Review Preparation Document Medical Cannabis in America
- News News
- Join Join
Becoming a Patient in Nevada
To apply, you must first fill out an Application Request Form (PDF_); if you elect to designate a primary caregiver, you may request a Caregiver Application as well. Mail in your filled out application along with:
- $25 for the application request fee;
- A copy of the front and back of your driver's license or State ID; and
- A copy of the front and back of your caretaker's driver's license or State ID (if you are designating a caretaker)
Once you receive your Application, you must submit:
- A filled out Application;
- Valid, written documentation from the patient's attending physician stating:
- The patient has been diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating medical condition;
- The medical use of marijuana may mitigate the symptoms or effects of the condition; and
- The attending physician has explained the possible risks and benefits of the medical use of marijuana
- The name, address and telephone number of the patient's attending physician;
- The name, address, telephone number, social security number and date of birth of the patient;
- Proof of residency in the State of Nevada for the patient;
- Caregiver application (if the patient elects to designate a primary caregiver), including:
- The name, address, telephone number and social security number of the designated caregiver; and
- A written and signed statement from the patient's attending physician approving of the designation of the caregiver
- $75 for the Application processing fee.
Individuals applying to become a patient must be diagnosed with one of the following debilitating conditions:
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Cachexia (wasting and malnutrition associated with chronic disease)
- Persistent Muscle Spasms (including Multiple Sclerosis)
- Seizures (including Epilepsy)
- Severe Nausea
- Severe Pain
- Additional conditions specifically approved by the Nevada HHS
Becoming a Patient as a Minor:
If you are under the age of 18 and wish to become a patient in Nevada, the application process is mostly the same. First, you must be over the age of 10. Your parent or legal guardian must sign a "minor release" form and attach it to your application; they must also be designated as your primary caregiver and are responsible for acquiring your medicine and administering treatment.
The minor release form includes a written statement confirming that:
- The attending physician of the minor has explained to both the minor and the custodial parent/legal guardian of the possible risks and benefits of the medical use of marijuana;
- The custodial parent/legal guardian consents to the medical use of marijuana for the minor;
- The custodial parent/legal guardian agrees to serve as the primary caretaker for the minor; and
- The custodial parent/legal guardian agrees to control the acquisition, dosage, and frequency of use by the minor.
Benefits of Being a Patient:
Patients and caregivers are exempt from arrest and prosecution for conduct allowed under state law, such as purchasing and possessing medical cannabis acquired from a state-licensed dispensary. An employer cannot fire you on the grounds of your medical cannabis use; however they are not required to allow you to medicate on the job site.
Becoming a Caregiver:
If you wish to become a caregiver, you must be designated by the patient and receive a registration identification card from the State of Nevada. A patient may have only one designated primary caregiver at any given time. You may serve as a caregiver provided:
- You are 18 years of age or older
- You have significant responsibility for the well being and care of the registered patient
- You are designated as a primary caregiver by the patient
- You will be issued a registry identification card from the State of Nevada on behalf of the patient
As a caregiver, you must not possess, produce or deliver more than 12 plants or over 2 (1/2) ounces of cannabis in a single 14-day period**
- A patient and primary caregiver may not each possess 2 (1/2) ounces of cannabis in a single 14-day period
- A patient and primary caregiver may not each possess 12 plants for cultivation
- Home cultivation is restricted unless the patient does not have reasonable access to a dispensary. See Possession, Growing, and Consumption Limitations for more details.
Out of State Patients:
Nevada recognizes out of state patient registrations. For more information on this topic, please check out our comprehensive Travel Guide.
Any adult over the age of 21 may grow cannabis in Nevada so long as they live over 25 miles from an operating cannabis retailer. You may grow up to six mature plants and possess up to six immature plants at the same time. Your plants must be kept in a secure area not visible to the public.