- About About
Medical Patient Resources Becoming a State-Authorized Patient Talking to your doctor The Medical Cannabis Patient’s Guide for U.S. Travel Patient's Guide to CBD Patient's Guide to Medical Cannabis Guide to Using Medical Cannabis Condition-based Booklets Growing Cannabis Cannabis Tincture, Salve, Butter and Oil Recipes Leaf411 Affordability Program Tracking Treatment & Gathering Data with Releaf App Medical Professional Resources CME for Medical Professionals Cannabis Safety Medical Cannabis Research
- Legal Legal
Advocacy ASA Chapters Start an ASA Chapter Take Action Campaigns No Patient Left Behind End Pain, Not Lives Vote Medical Marijuana Medical Cannabis Advocate's Training Center Resources for Tabling and Lobby Days Strategic Planning Civics 101 Strategic Messaging Citizen Lobbying Participating in Implementation Movement Building Organizing a Demonstration Organizing Turnout for Civic Meetings Public Speaking Media 101 Patient's History of Medical Cannabis
Policy Model Federal Legislation Download Ending The Federal Conflict Public Comments by ASA Industry Standards Guide to Regulating Industry Standards Recognizing Science using the Data Quality Act Fact Sheet on ASA's Data Quality Act Petition to HHS Data Quality Act Briefs ASA Data Quality Act petition to HHS Information on Lawyers and Named Patients in the Data Quality Act Lawsuit Reports 2020 State of the States Medical Cannabis in America Medical Cannabis Access for Pain Treatment
- Join Join
Becoming a Caregiver, Producer or Provider in Arizona
Patients may designate a caregiver to assist with acquiring, cultivating and using medical cannabis. A designated caregiver must be at least 21 years old and cannot have been convicted of a violent felony or a drug-related felony occurring in the last 10 years or that would not have resulted in conviction if the Medical Marijuana Act had been effective at the time. Patients and designated caregivers are permitted to cultivate cannabis only if there is no dispensary within 25 miles of the patient's home, and they have been granted permission by the state. A patient can only have one designated caregiver and a person can be the designated caregiver for no more than 5 patients.
A designated caregiver with a registry ID card can possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana and, if they have permissions to cultivate, up to 12 marijuana plants , keeping in mind that the sum total of medicine and plants between the patient and the designated caregiver may never exceed 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis and 12 cannabis plants. For instance, if the patient has 1 ounce of usable cannabis in her possession, and 2 cannabis plants, the designated caregiver may not exceed 1.5 ounces of usable cannabis and 10 cannabis plants.
Patients and designated caregivers can grow cannabis indoors in an enclosed, locked space, such as a closet, room, greenhouse, or other enclosed area equipped with locks or other security devices that permit access only by a cardholder.
For more information from the Arizona Department of Health Services visit: Arizona Caregivers
Arizona Department of Health Services established a registration program for nonprofit dispensaries. The law allows for up to 126 dispensaries. For more information on the program please visit: Arizona Dispensaries