Alaska Legal Information
Safe access to medical cannabis was first approved in Alaska by Measure 8 (1998), an initiative supported by 58 percent of voters. Alaska Senate Bill 94 was passed in June 1999 and modified the law created by Measure 8 to require medical marijuana patients to register with the state health department and limit the amount of marijuana they and their caregivers may legally possess. Any patient with a valid registry card may legally use cannabis for medicinal purposes and their caregiver may assist them in doing so. Patients or their caregivers may possess up to one ounce of usable marijuana and cultivate up to six cannabis plants (three mature, three immature). Patients and caregivers can possess paraphernalia associated with growing or consuming cannabis for medical use. All patients and caregivers must enroll in the state patient registry and possess a valid identification card in order to be legally protected. A primary caregiver must be at least 21 years old, not currently on probation or parole, and can't have been convicted of a drug-related felony. Alaska law does not allow for commercial sales or production of medical cannabis.
In This Section
View and print the Alaska MMJ State Report Card from our latest report: Medical Marijuana Access in the U.S. A Patient-Focused Analysis of the Patchwork of State Laws.
Codified under Alaska Statute Title 17, Chapter 37: "Medical Uses of Marijuana", the law is officially known as the Medical Uses of Marijuana for Persons Suffering from Debilitating Medical Conditions Act.
Medical professionals recommending medical cannabis must be physicians either be licensed to practice medicine in the state of Alaska or must be an officer in the regular medical service of the armed forces of the United States or the United States Public Health Service while in the discharge of their official duties, or while volunteering services without pay or other remuneration to a hospital, clinic, medical office, or other medical facility in Alaska.
Any patient with a valid registry card may legally use marijuana for medicinal purposes and their caregiver may assist them in doing so. You can possess paraphernalia associated with growing or consuming marijuana for medical use. All patients MUST enroll in the state patient registry and possess a valid identification card in order to be legally protected. A copy of a registry identification card is not valid. A damaged card is not valid.
Every state has varying laws and regulations for caregivers, cultivators and medical cannabis providers. This section includes an overview of state requirements and links to necessary forms and applications.
Unfortunately, patients, caregivers, and providers are still vulnerable to federal and state arrests, prosecutions, and incarceration. They also suffer pervasive discrimination in employment, child custody, housing, public accommodation, education and medical care.