Delaware Producer & Provider Info

Caregiver

Patients may designate a caregiver to assist with acquiring, and using medical cannabis.  A “designated caregiver” must be 21, has not been convicted of certain felony offenses; and may assists no more than 5 patients.

Delaware Department of Public Health has more information and required forms

Production/Distribution

Currently First State Compassion Center is the only compassion center licensed by the Department.  However, the Kent County Compassion Center is expected to open sometime in 2017.

Patients are permitted to obtain marijuana from one of the three state registered non-profit compassion centers to which they are empaneled by the Office of Medical Marijuana (OMM). The Department has developed rules for the compassion centers’ oversight, record keeping, and security. It also sets application and registration fees, which must cover the costs of administering the Program.

Dispensaries must be at least 1,000 feet from schools, and they must cultivate their own marijuana; either at the retail site or at additional enclosed, locked cultivation locations that must be registered with the Department. No more than three ounces of marijuana can be dispensed to a patient every 14 days.

Delaware Department of Public Health has more information and required applications. 

 

 

 

 


In This Section