Pennsylvania Legal Information
The Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Act (SB 3), was signed by Governor Tom Wolf on April 17, 2016 going into effect 30 days later on May 17, 2016, creating the state’s medical marijuana program. The program will allow patients to obtain medical cannabis from state-licensed dispensaries. The program includes 17 qualifying conditions.
In July of 2017, the Department of Health began registering physicians for the medical marijuana program. As of April 2018, 511 physicians have registered. In November 2017, the Department opened up the patient and caregiver registry. A eligible patient may have up to two caregivers and a caregiver may provide care for up to five patients. Patients and caregivers must obtain a Marijuana Identification card which costs $50.00, and is valid for up to one year.
As of April 2018, there are a total of 12 grower/processors , 27 primary dispensaries, 15 secondary dispensaries and 10 tertiary dispensaries. There are 14 statewide dispensaries where patients may purchase medical cannabis.
The state Department of Health (DOH) has provided guidelines for patients seeking safe harbor letters when administering medical cannabis to minors, particularly when then the administration of cannabis takes place on school grounds.
Physicians must take a training course before being eligible to recommend medical cannabis under SB 3.
In This Section
Under the Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Program, the state will authorize up to 150 dispensaries. Because the program is still being implemented, a full list of dispensaries is not yet available.
On April 17, 2016, Gov. Tom Wolf signed into law SB 3, Pennsylvania’s compassionate medical cannabis legislation.
Before a doctor can prescribe medical cannabis, he or she must have a valid license to practice medicine in Pennsylvania, register with DOH, complete a four-hour course about medical cannabis, and report back to DOH if a patient no longer needs access to medical cannabis as a result of improved health or death.
To purchase medical marijuana, a patient will need to be under the continuing care of a physician who is registered with DOH. The physician may then provide a signed certification to the patient stating that the patient has a serious medical condition.