Becoming a Patient in Oregon
A patient with a valid ID card may use marijuana for medicinal purposes and the patient can designate a primary caregiver to help them with their medicine. Patients may possess "paraphernalia" such as pipes, water pipes, vaporizers, in order to use their medicine. Patients must enroll in the state patient registry and possess a valid identification card in order to be legally protected.
With a valid registry ID card you (or your designated primary caregiver) may possess up to 6 mature plants and 24 ounces of dried plant material.* You must have the registry identification card with you when using or transporting marijuana in a location other than your home.
*Unless you have been convicted of a Class A or Class B felony under ORS 475.840 to 475.920 for the manufacture or delivery of a controlled substance in Schedule I or Schedule II. If you have had a drug conviction in the past 5 years, you are only allowed to possess 1 ounce of medicine at a time.
A patient may use medical marijuana to treat cancer, glaucoma, agitation due to Alzheimer's disease, HIV/AIDS, cachexia (severe weightloss or "wasting syndrome"), severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, persistent muscle spasms, or to relieve the side effects of a treatment for any of these conditions. The Oregon Health Authority can also add more medical conditions to this list.
A doctor recommending medicinal marijuana must be a licensed physician who has primary responsibility for the care and treatment of the patient with a debilitating medical condition.
After a licensed physician has determined that medical marijuana may be an effective treatment for you, you need to fill out an application and send it to the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program in order to get your ID. You must also pay a $100 fee** and include your physician's statement with your application. Application instructions can be found at http://oregon.gov/DHS/ph/ommp/guideln.shtml.
**Unless you have been convicted of a Class A or Class B felony under ORS 475.840 to 475.920 for the manufacture or delivery of a controlled substance in Schedule I or Schedule II. If you have had a drug conviction in the past 5 years, you are only allowed to possess 1 ounce of medicine at a time.Unless you are on the Oregon Health Plan (OHP), receiving monthly Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits, or receiving monthly Food Stamp benefits, then you may pay a $20.
As a patient, you may acquire your medicine by growing it yourself or by having your designated primary caregiver grow it for you. Patients may also give each other marijuana, but the law does not protect the sale of medical marijuana. Grow sites are to be registered with the Oregon Health Authority.
If you are under 18, your custodial parent or legal guardian with responsibility for your healthcare must sign a written statement indicating that he or she consents to your to use of medicinal marijuana, agrees to serve as your designated primary caregiver, agrees to control your acquisition of marijuana and the dosage and frequency of your use, and that your physician explained the possible risks and benefits of medicinal marijuana use.
The Oregon Health Authority maintains a list of the people with ID cards, the names of any designated primary caregivers, and the addresses of authorized marijuana grow sites. This list is supposed to remain confidential. It may only be legally accessed by members of the Oregon Health Authority and by state and local law enforcement in order to verify whether someone is a patient, someone is a designated primary caregiver, or whether a location is an authorized marijuana grow site.
The law does not require a government medical assistance program or private health insurer to reimburse a patient for costs of their medicine.
There is currently no state reciprocity program in Oregon. If you do not have an Oregon patient ID, you are not protected as a medical marijuana patient in Oregon.
http://oregon.gov/DHS/ph/ommp/index.shtml (Oregon Medical Marijuana Program Website)
http://oregon.gov/DHS/ph/ommp/med_mj_patient_info.pdf (information from the Oregon State Police)
http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/475.html (text of the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act)
Oregon Department of Human
Medical Marijuana Program
PO Box 14450
Portland, OR 97293-0450